• THROUGH the SEASONS with THE WRITE GARDENER Support independent publishing: Buy this book on Lulu.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,286 other followers

  • Follow Me on Pinterest
  • Follow The Write Gardener on Facebook

In the fall…

I have to stop thinking of my youngest daughter as my youngest daughter. She’s 18, and I should be allowing her to venture out more on her own, without wanting to know where she’s goin, how long she’ll be there, and when she’ll be home each and every time she walks out the door.

m1

It’s probably good to know where she’s at, but once she leaves for college in the fall how will I know where she’s at then? I know she’ll be attending Slippery Rock University, and I know that’s in Slippery Rock, PA. But how am I to know where she’ll be when she’s not in class, or even if she’s going to class?

Meghan2How am I supposed to train myself not to text her every hour to see if she’ll reply and let me know where she’s at and what she’s doing?

I think about her leaving for college and I begin to wish that I could rewind our lives and go back to the time when she was so shy that she’d hide behind my leg when a friend or relative spoke to her. Back to when she used that gibberish toddler language that nobody but her older brother, mother or father could understand. Back in time to the days when I held her and rocked her to sleep, or comforted her after a mishap or when she had a tummy ache. Back when she was my little bo bo, when she’d say her name was nuh nuh nuh, making everyone wonder how she came up with three syllables and that unique pronunciation of her first name.

Meghan

I have to stop thinking that Meghan needs protected from everything that’s out there. But there sure is a lot of harmful stuff out there. Isn’t there? Or is it just a father’s imagination that the world is just too big for his little baby girl?

 

4 Responses

  1. I couldn’t how hard it would be for parents to send their child (or children) off to college. It’s a new world out there for these young people. We just have to pray that all of the advice that we give our children, that they will utilize them in life situations, and that they will soar through college and receive their college degrees. Hopefully, they will make a difference in achieving in their career goals!

  2. Ahh, she’s a sweetie. She must get her good looks from her mother:) I know exactly what you mean. Our daughter is now 30, she got married this spring, but I still need to talk to her at least every other day (I’ve pared it down from daily). She always will be our baby, and there’s no growing up or out of that slot in life.

    Spend as much time as possible this summer with your daughter and then watch her fly away in the fall. Send a care package every week or two with a note inside to let her know you miss her. She will be all right.

  3. I love this. It’s so, so touching and true–but you know, it’s the same way with boys. We are so blessed to have our families and friends like you, TC and Maureen.

  4. It may be that I’m facing the same situation sooner rather than later, but I think everything you just said is perfectly fine.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,286 other followers

